Shaddai – Protector of Doorways

I made this little sketch thinking about the full moon and my Jewish relationship with it.
And I decided to actually make some art that existed beyond this little computer I carry around.
And added some details.
Here are the curved silver lines of water, the fluid currents of Torah, strongest when the moon is strongest.
The red streak above the lintel, made with my thumb, a line of protection. Red and gold, powerful – like fire and lightning.
Around the moon are little moon symbols. And even within the seeming starkness of black and white are small patterns, details, shapes.
El Shaddai. Guardian of Doors. Shomer Daltot Yisrael. Protector of Liminal Spaces.

Shekinah, guard us. Bless us and we will bless. May we be full like the moon. May we know the doors we enter. May we be safe in the in-between.

Amen v’amen.

Leave a comment