Listen True

When the kohanim are inaugurated, the life-force of their sacrifice is placed upon their skin in three places – the ridge of the right ear, the right thumb, and the right big toe.
I have not yet formed a work of my hands I consider worthy for ordination. I have not yet made works of my feet I consider worthy for ordination. But I am deeply grateful that my ear, my listening, is something that has given itself over and over to myself and others. Hearing others deeply keeps me sane and human.

I pierced my right tragus with a red opal. May my listening always be multi-faceted, leaning towards chesed openness, glimmering even in the dark, and reflecting the blood-soul nefesh this sacrifice requires; that to listen true is to give up a part of yourself to find the Other and have that spark returned by them.

#Sacrifice #ItsWorthIt #MakingMeaning #JewishMagic #JewishEmbodiment #Jewish #Queer #Trans #TransJew #TragusPiercing #RabbinicalSchool

Leave a comment